Diamonds were first discovered by man 4,000 years ago in the riverbeds of the Golconda region of India. They have since captured the minds of some of the most powerful people in history. As such, if a diamond is not of the highest quality, it is simply not added to Nicky McCourt’s exclusive range.

Diamonds are readily classified today (and valued) by four simple characteristics:

  1. Cut (or shape)
  2. Carat-Weight (or size)
  3. Colour
  4. Clarity

Learn more about the four characteristics (the 4Cs) of a diamond and see illustrations.

However, two diamonds with identical properties can still be valued differently. That’s because a diamond can also possess life, brilliance, great proportions and soul...characteristics that are beyond grading.

Which characteristic is the most important? It comes down to your own taste, yet if it is bigger, clearer (from impurities) and `whiter’ (in colour), then a diamond can be regarded `more rare’ and valuable. Of course, it needs to have been `cut’ appropriately `by man' too.

The 5th C - 'Certified'

For peace of mind and confidence, insist that your new diamond comes with an internationally approved `certificate’ of authenticity. Certificates are provided by independent diamond-grading laboratories that put diamonds through a series of complex tests to determine their quality according to internationally set standards enforced by the International Diamond Council (IDC).

Nicky McCourt uses the world’s most reputable diamond-grading laboratories for its diamonds. Only then can you compare against identical, certified stones around the world.

Make an appointment to view our `certified' diamonds in private.

Use our Diamond Search (top right) to search a selection of our diamonds/prices now before making your appointment.